Welkom op de website van Camerata Trajectina. Een ogenblik geduld alstublieft...

Welcome at Camerata Trajectina's website. Please, wait a moment...

The Ensemble

The Camerata Trajectina ensemble ('Utrecht Music Company', set up in 1974) has made a name for itself playing Dutch music from the Middle Ages through the 17th century. The nucleus of the ensemble consists of Hieke Meppelink (soprano), Nico van der Meel (tenor), Saskia Coolen (recorders, viol), Erik Beijer (viol, percussion) and Louis Peter Grijp (lute, cittern, artistic director), often joined by Sytse Buwalda (countertenor), Marcel Moester (baritone), Annelies van der Vegt or Antoinette Lohmann (baroque violin) and many other musicians.

The group's repertoire deals chiefly with themes and individuals from Dutch history. The ensemble took part in the National Commemorations of the Union of Utrecht (1979), William of Orange (1984), Constantijn Huygens (1987), the humanist Dirck Volkertszoon Coornhert (1990), the Peace of Westphalia (1998) and the Dutch East India Company (2002) and in commemorations of the poets Gerbrandt Adriaenszoon Bredero, Joost van den Vondel and the Frisian Gysbert Japix, and of the reformer Menno Simons and the Dutch Remonstrant Society. A special theme is the relationship between painting and music, in connection with the exhibitions Music and Painting (Hoogsteder, The Hague 1995), about Jan Steen (Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam 1996) and Frans Hals and his contemporaries (Haarlem 2004). In 2005 Camerata celebrated the 500th anniversary of Jacob Obrecht's death with new lyrics for his liedekens by the famous Dutch poet Gerrit Komrij.

The ensemble has given hundreds of concerts: in the Netherlands (including many appearances in the Utrecht Early Music Festival), Belgium and many other European countries, in the United States, Mexico, Canada, Indonesia and Ghana. Camerata Trajectina has recorded more than 30 CDs of Dutch music for the labels Globe and Philips Classics.